Garage or Yard Sale…

In getting ready for the ‘big move’ I’ve decided (after my husband suggesting for years I get on it) that I need to purge my life. Well what I call my life. Meaning…the boxes of crap I have been moving from house, to house, from one province to another, and between a few more houses. I have an issue with not being able to emotionally detach from objects and I have finally realized how ridiculous it has become. Not only do I have an emotional attachment to A LOT I also equate how much I have spent on an item to a value that no longer exists. I struggle with the idea of giving stuff away that I could make money on if I put the time into selling it (online or at a garage sale).

Finally I think I have broken my habits. Maybe it’s the fact we are moving into a new home that is truly ours or maybe I have finally realized all this ‘stuff’ is just a burden and keeping it in boxes does not do anyone a favour. Saturday is the big sale leaving me just a few more days to get myself organized. I have set a goal for myself to go through everything before we pack it and through every box that has been sitting in storage for 9+ months. I am determined to unpack everything, except maybe our Christmas decorations since it would be weird to have those out in our home year around, once we move and not tuck boxes of items we don’t need away. To top it off, anything that doesn’t sell goes in boxes, in the car and dropped off at goodwill. NOTHING will re-enter the house.

While preparing for our garage sale and surfing the net for ideas for a fantastic sale I came across this blog from Vintage Revivals providing tips for a killer yard sale. I thought it couldn’t suit me better…right down to the comments from her husband. Either way it makes me smile…

I did not advertise as a yard sale. I advertised as a Hoard Sale because A) its way funnier and B) that’s what it was! The ads from Craigslist were so awesome that people came from 2 hours away just to see what a Hoard Sale was. Here are a sampling of the ads:

HUMONGO hoard sale this Saturday! (October 8) According to my husband I am a freakin hoarder, and he is mad at me. Which means that I have to get rid of a ton of my treasures to save my marriage. Starts at 8 on the dot. No early birds, I will call the cops. Just kidding I wont. But really don’t come early. This is a DIYers paradise! Need a dining room chair or 21? Good cause we have those! See you there! Also I like cookies if you want to bring me some.

There are only a few days until the Hoard sale on Saturday!! Are you EXCITED!?!? I am selling tons of amazing crap! 8 o’clock is when it opens. Only awesome people are invited.

The first annual Vintage Revivals Hoard Sale is tomorrow Saturday oct 8. The ribbon cutting ceremony starts at 8 am exactly. 99% of the sale is furniture and home decor!! Follow the pink signs and balloons. It’s going to be AMAZING!! This is like the Black Friday of yard sales people.

I mean SERIOUSLY. Who wouldn’t want to go to a yard sale like that?!

Although my advertising wasn’t quite as thrilling, I’ll post some photos of our (hopefully) killer garage sale this weekend.

Tags: ,

About Heather

lifestyle home renovator blogger at www.11625hrs.wordpress.com

One response to “Garage or Yard Sale…”

  1. Alana says :

    Love this idea! Can’t wait for the sale!

Leave a Reply

