our first anniversary

Today is our First Wedding Anniversary! I have no idea where the past year went! It is crazy how time just flies by.

I loved our wedding…we got married in Ottawa Ontario Canada. Having grown-up in the east and now we live in the west it was a good meeting point; not to mention we did meet in Ottawa about 7 years ago.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We were married at an Anglican Church and our reception for 125 guests was at the Museum of Nature. A beautiful venue (in my opinion anyway) where we hosted our detail oriented black and white themed wedding. It was a day I will never forget. One of the most memorable aspects of our wedding was the love and support from our friends and family. They travelled from almost every province, from BC to Nfld and even from Switzerland to be there with us. It was an incredible feeling to have all of these special people in our lives there just to support us. Something I will never ever forget.

I remember working on details galore for months on end, coordinating everything right down to the pearl in my fascinator (which were from my late grandmother’s necklace). We named our tables after places we had each lived throughout our lives, made our own signage for the bar/photobooth/guest book/etc., had a DIY photobooth, our guest book (which was a photo book of Ottawa people signed throughout), we made our place cards with local wine corks we had collected from friends, designed and wrote our own menu cards and thank yous, provided washroom baskets for any item someone may have forgotten…you name it we tried to get it done. We had people comment on the attention to detail which made me happy to have spent so much time piecing things together (I’m a total type A personality).

We had wonderful family and friends who helped make our day extra special. A few extra special hands made our wedding cake – my cousin who is a baker now in the UK did our wedding cake which I loved and tasted amazing. My father built the cake stand which in the evening was just glowing with mini lights and the driftwood was a touch from the east coast. My cousins and my beautiful bridesmaids and our mothers helped assemble all our centrepieces from items from their garden (which I might add are always stunning). There were many other family and friends that helped us run errands, provided us accommodations and were very giving to R and I; for all those things we will be forever grateful for helping us.

I am looking forward to many more years together with my wonderful husband. xo

The photo credits go to our fantastic photographer (Derrick Rice) from Union Eleven.

Tags: , , , , ,

About Heather

lifestyle home renovator blogger at www.11625hrs.wordpress.com

13 responses to “our first anniversary”

  1. Stacey says :

    Happy Anniversary! Such a special day today. Your pictures are so beautiful, Heather… you look amazing. (you both do!) Love that shot of you and the brides maids agains that wall – super cool. Cheers to one year and many more to come. It will be 22 years for me this August. (YIKES!)

  2. Garden Gate Project says :

    Happy anniversary and blessings for many more years to come. Enjoy the journey together.

  3. mfh80 says :

    h. i love you guys. ❤ can't wait to see you in two months xoxoxo

  4. Carole Reilly says :

    What a lovely pictorial remembrance of that wonderful day. Lucky it was last year as the peonies have come and gone already this year. Sigh… can you imagine the fret factor if we had been depending on their timely arrival in bloom this year?? Hugs to you and Ryan with many more coming down the road.

    Carole and Phil

  5. Sarah Alexander says :

    W-O-W! You’re right, a year sure does fly by! I hope he is spoiling you rotten today… 😉 xoxo to you both,

    S

  6. Victoria Elizabeth Barnes says :

    Pretty bride!! If I had access to a time machine for just one day… I’d revisit my wedding. I’m STILL sad it’s over!!

    • Heather says :

      Thank you! It was a fantastic day, I loved thinking about it play by play yesterday! It goes so fast I would almost like to go through it again too!

Leave a Reply

