rain rain go away

I don’t want to continue the nursery rhyme because we have had enough rain for this “summer” and I don’t want it to come another day! Seriously – for the past 5 weekends we have had rain…and just about every 2 or 3 days (at least) in between. It seems to never end!!

the rain from our front door

water rushing down the road

We live in a desert and we don’t have irrigation for our lawn or gardens. This year we have only had to water our property twice! If you live in a desert and understand how dry it really can get you would realize this is a huge feat.

Unfortunately the rain doesn’t leave me overly motivated even though there is plenty to do around the house and we have company (my sister from across the country! and my brother from 8 hours away) coming to visit in just over a week. All I really know is that I’m hoping the weather isn’t quite so bad when they are here.

Even Moose is tired of it!

I’ve been waiting for weeks and weeks for the rain to stop long enough so the wood window sills and frames would dry so I could finally paint the outside of the house! The weather persons keep saying that we should have high 20s and sun after Canada Day weekend…so now I wait.

so really…rain rain go away

Happy Canada Day Weekend!

Tags: , ,

About Heather

lifestyle home renovator blogger at www.11625hrs.wordpress.com

6 responses to “rain rain go away”

  1. Stacey says :

    It’s pouring where I live… and I just started painting the outside of the house yesterday! I FEEL YOUR PAIN. The rain is a motivation squasher, isn’t it. So I’m with you.. rain rain go away… or at least util we can get our windows painted. 🙂 Hang in there!

  2. Phil says :

    Count your pleasings Heather … here, just west of Ottawa, we’ve not had a soaking rain for 6 weeks. I’m watering 18 hours a day with water that I have to temper with citric acid ’cause the historic Champlain Sea water that I’ve got access to is capable of ‘doing in’ my garden plants.

    • Heather says :

      Oh I know…just a mix of sun and rain would be ideal! Guess we can’t have it all. Hope all your plants are lasting through the weather!

  3. Linn @ The Home Project says :

    Rain? Which state are you in? Well, at least you’re not dealing with 105 F degrees and sun! I think you should enjoy the rain, it will be over before you know it! I’m sure it will turn before your family arrive, and become just perfect. But I know, it’s kind of annoying if you were planning on doing some project and then the weather just won’t change when you want it to!

    • Heather says :

      North of you in Canada (BC)! Normally we have hot weather around now but we are still waiting for it! I know rain is better than none but I’d love some nice hot weather too. Hopefully sooner than later.

Leave a Reply

