project starter

I have realized I’m an awesome project starter. Not finisher. I’m not sure if I get to overwhelmed or just tired of the same task or I hit a level of frustration and start thinking up another project that would be more fun. I always have a running list of DIYs I would like to accomplish or an even longer list of things that still need to be done around the house. I love the pretty picture but honestly sometimes I wish someone else could do all the work, not us.

My lists usually come with an unrealistic timeline that is usually 99.9% unattainable. Overtime sure, but not within the days/week I usually allot myself. I’ve always been that way. I love keeping busy, I am not good at sitting and doing nothing. When I ‘watch tv’ I am usually on the computer surfing the internet and reading blogs looking for more ideas or working on another DIY. So keeping busy YAH but keeping focused NAH.

I wish I was better able to finish projects and I didn’t become so…complacent?…yup complacent with what is left. A recent example – our bathroom. Everything EXCEPT the shower curtain I need to sew is complete…I just am not in a rush to do it but if I did then BAM one room could be fully off the checklist. BAH alright I really need to do it.

Prioritize. Maybe that is all I need to better learn. Overall in life I tend to be quite organized (however looking at the state of my house now you would never think it) and able to multi-task and prioritize. Something I have had to always do for work to meet my deadlines. But why can’t I roll that into my at home life?

Am I the only one out there? How do people push through something they are just so tired of looking at around their home to get the task fully complete? When you are trying to work through a whole house of renos how do you prioritize? At the end when you complete a project I know the feeling of pure satisfaction. But maybe I just want to do too much at once and need to focus my attention to one room at a time. That is after I finish unpacking all the boxes! sigh.

Tags: , , ,

About Heather

lifestyle home renovator blogger at www.11625hrs.wordpress.com

11 responses to “project starter”

  1. mfh80 says :

    one room at a time. + focus on how good it’ll feel to be finished. because i’m the same way. little C’s room is ‘mostly’ done. there are a handful of little things which need to be nailed/screwed up, lightbulbs put in, a hook here and there. it’s not complete at all. but mostly done. sigh. i think i partly wait for M to help complete things…but that’s sometimes like pulling teeth. when it gets to the point that i don’t care anymore, i try to focus on the satisfaction of being completely done + taking a big marker stroke to that to-do list item. xo

    • Heather says :

      Ya – thanks that’s how I need to do it 🙂 Yes right now I need the satisfaction of having the room cmopleted! Maybe once I have the first one done the second and third won’t seem so daunting!

  2. alana says :

    I think a lot of home owners are like this! I think the key is to finish one thing and then move on to another. Lol. I am extremely helpful I know. I have to say as years have gone by, I realize and recognize that ideas and projects are awesome but I know not to purchase anything until I know I am going to actually put the time aside and do it. This method is satisfying as then you don’t have ‘what is going to be’ laying around the house staring at you as a reminder that you haven’t done what you planned to do. Long story short. People are more the same then they are different. What makes you a little more unique is that you are too damn creative lol! Carry on as you are and enjoy 🙂

  3. alana says :

    As a follow up…I bought that bathroom vanity set 4 years ago when I anticipated finishing the bathroom. In terms of timelines…I have failed on that project. So much so that I have considered selling the vanity set and pretending it never happened. This also works well.

    • Heather says :

      hahah Thanks! I’m try 😉 but yes, I need to finish the washroom and go from there…for the most part. LOL Don’t sell the bath set hold out for it (or bring it to the yard sale Saturday hehe)

  4. Stacey says :

    Are you kidding me! You’re talking to the queen of “never getting it done”… why do you think I post so much OTHER stupid stuff. HA HA HA! I’m right there with you. It’s difficult… especially when a project takes a while… I tend to lose interest. I don’t take my own advice, obviously, but it probably works best to do one thing at a time… until it’s finished. And be gentle on yourself, because it seems every project takes at least 2 to 3 times longer than you planned. So if you think something will take a week… count on 3. Ha Ha! Sorry, that was a downer!
    Finish your shower curtain and I promise you’ll feel better! Baby steps. And you always have friends to help you along… or kick your butt, whichever you prefer. 🙂 Hang in there!

    • Heather says :

      I’m glad that I am not the only one out there!! Yes I think I need to settle into the idea that it will take me weekends longer than I thought! Washroom is my focus right now! Thanks!! 🙂

  5. Victoria Elizabeth says :

    Amen, amen, amen. If Paul weren’t aggressively project-oriented, literally nothing would ever be finished. I like to do the “pretty” stuff. But my enthusiasm is short-lived for any task that’s tedious… even though when it’s finished the relief and appreciation make me wonder WHY I didn’t do it sooner.

    I’ve been trying to do better. But also to make peace with this part of my personality. I try to remind myself that I WILL get around to it eventually, I always do. So no sense feeling badly about it in the meantime.

    • Heather says :

      Good idea, maybe making peace and accepting it are a good thing! I need to get things finished and work my way through the list room by room!

  6. SJ says :

    You’re def not the only one. This is a cronic issue for me too. I’ve realized multi-tasking is my worst enemy and being a perfectist kills my projects because they just never seem good enough, or I don’t let myself finish for fear of it not being perfect. sigh.

    So, I’m learning to cut myself some slack, and be ok with ‘not perfect’. I also significatly stopped looking at pintrest and blogs (except yours of course ;). I love the inspiration, but my pile of “to dos” was getting a little big.

    Like the rest of these wise women said, take it one project at a time so you can see one complete. And be easy on yourself so you don’t burn out. Let the creative ideas flow, but maybe chanel them into one area and one project at a time, or at least less then you’re managing now.

    Overall, it seems like you’re enjoying the renos. You’re doing some great work, girl! xox

    • Heather says :

      Yes I am trying to cut a bit of slack too. I’m just too excited to do too many things! lol It has been lots of fun and keeps me busy!! xo

Leave a Reply

